Yelp Reviews

Yelp Review from Student

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Rayme S.,  //  May 29, 2015

5.0 star rating 3/17/2015

I have been attending RSPCS for almost a full year, experiencing Photo 1-3, Drips Drops and Illusions, and their portraiture class. I am continuing classes so long as they have new ones to try and wonderful things to experience.

I went from being a DSLR neanderthal to becoming a regular lab instructor and an aspiring professional photographer. I started at RSPCS as a means of finding a fun hobby from a less then boring summer, and the school gave me so much more then a loving new hobby. It set me on the path of success, creative passion, and a loving community. The teachers care about your creative journey. They encourage you to email them with questions always, regardless of whether you are enrolled in class or in between. The printing equipment and lab technology they have is state of the art and industry standard. You will discover that you don't have to pay hundreds of dollars for printing and photo editing. You will learn how to do it all yourself. You will learn your camera, and quickly. You will discover a talent within yourself you never thought possible.

Maybe your life won't change like mine did. At the very least you will become a much better photographer and a thousand times more knowledgeable about your camera. But to those who are looking for little inspiration, it's a good place to find some. Richard himself built the school on the premise of community, and that photography was something to be shared and enjoyed. There's nothing pretentious about the school. Its a very warm and engaging environment. And with the recent change in management, I whole heartedly believe his legacy will continue, and the school will continue to excel above and beyond.

If I could give it 10 stars I would.


Richard Has a Beautiful Love for Teaching

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Sandra, Chicago, IL  //  October 26, 2014

I began Photo I seven weeks ago and I will say it was bitter sweet leaving today. I have a true understanding of the four factors of exposure and it is as if a light bulb came on. The assignments Richard gives the class helps you learn and grow from your mistakes.  I wish I would have found this facility 3 years ago. I will continue to Photo II and have every confidence that I will grow into a great photographer.

Richard I hope more people find you and see the jewel your school really is. Many thanks for the laughs and the stories you provided in your journey through photo journalism. You have a beautiful love for teaching, I wish there were more people like you.

Best regards,
Sandra


I Learned A Lot From the Classes Here

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

B.H., Park Ridge, IL  //  April 10, 2014

I learned a lot from the classes here. I went from not knowing anything about DSLR and it took my photography skills to a whole new level. Instructors are very willing to help. I email or call them and they always give very detailed explaination to my questions. They make sure I understand the concept and help me apply them to actual shooting scenarios. I really enjoyed taking classes here.


Everyone Will Learn Regardless of Prior Knowledge… Laughter Will Be Heard & Leaning Will Occur

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Gary F., Chicago, IL  //  April 10, 2014

I just finished Photo ll. Photo l was very basic but just about everyone will learn a fair amount regardless of your prior knowledge. It is geared for those with little to no experience with a dSLR. Richard is an "old school" photographer and dishes out some tough love but you will never take a hand-held shot with a shutter speed slower than 1/60! If you don't know why you definitely need this class. Photo ll was an awesome class. Nick is a very dedicated instructor who loves photography and it shows. He involves students and makes the class interactive and entertaining. There is ample access to the lab with computers and high end printers (that take a while to master!). After finishing Photo ll one will feel very comfortable in all the details of their camera. I'm on to Photo lll to refine my skills and improve on the creative aspects of photography.


I Absolutely Love the Instruction That I’ve Received

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amina N., Chicago, IL  //  April 8, 2014

Last night was our final class and it was so bittersweet. I can honestly say that I've learned so much in my Photo 1 and Photo 2 classes. The difference in my photography skills from my first photo class until now is remarkable. Not only am I no longer intimidated by my Nikon D7000, but I'll never use the auto flash function again! I'm comfortable changing the settings of my camera to match the setting of the environment or image that I wish to photograph. I'm also starting to recognize the elements that make a good photograph and am comfortable photographing in a variety of light sources. I've also become a lot more comfortable with Lightroom 5 and can edit my pictures to my liking.

I absolutely love the instruction that I've received. From Richard's "tough love" approach to experiential learning, to Nick's unwavering dedication to ensure that every student understands the concepts presented, I can honestly say that in all of my academic career (which has been lengthy) the two of them have been the best teachers I've ever had!! I really felt like they enjoyed photography and teaching and genuinely wanted me to experience the joy of photography for myself. I'm so grateful for the opportunity to study at Richard Stromberg's Chicago Photography Classes and look forward to future opportunities to partake in classes.


Richard is Really Passionate About Photography

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Kimberly W., Chicago, IL  //  August 28, 2013

I just finished the Photo 1 class. Initially I took the class to learn how to use my camera to take better photos for an upcoming trip to China. As I progressed through the class, I've truly developed a better understanding and an increased interest in photography.

Richard teaches the Photo 1 class - at first he seems gruff and impatient...he's NOT, he's really passionate about photography, teaching the right technique and wants to ensure you get your money's worth. He's so passionate that he even brought in a technical skills person to work with another student one-on-one to really dig deep and find out why she was having issues with her own personal computer. I've not seen that kind of commitment from a teacher in a long time.

I'm so excited about what I learned in photo 1 that I've already signed up for photo 2! In the first class, Richard "the Photo Buddha" promised that we'd learn and laugh a lot. He did not lie. If you are interested in learning about and possibly becoming a professional photographer, I highly recommend this class.


You Will Get More Than You Can Imagine

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A. Student, Chicago, IL  //  August 21, 2013

Richard will show you what it means to be a photographer. A real photographer. An artist. Someone who understands the craft. Not just a point and clicker.

There are few people left in this world that understand true passion. Those that do things for love, not monetary reward, and truly enjoy helping others get better. Those that open themselves to helping people discover the true beauty in photography.

Richard is temperamental, like all those who have standards. He has integrity, and can be difficult. And, I mean that in the best way possible. The way that will help shape you as a person. If you dedicate yourself, you will get more than you can imagine out of his tutelage.